Blissful Whole-Wheat Banana Muffins

DSCN8948-3When you start your own website/blog, you have to be prepared to work on A LOT of different aspects of it.  So besides being author, photographer and co-chef of Quattromani, I am now also in charge of SEO (for those of you who don’t know that stands for search engine optimization).  Don’t feel bad, I only found out recently myself! To be honest, when you’re doing something you love, and especially when you see something you created continue to grow, you  really don’t feel like it’s a chore, or something you HAVE to do.  Actually, it kind of works perfectly, ’cause at least now I finally have a valid excuse for being on Facebook all the time!

I spent all of last night working on perfecting our brand new, fabulous facebook fan page, which so many of you so kindly decided to follow (THANK YOU!!), and all the while, I was thinking of the perfect recipe to celebrate the birth of yet another bit of Quattromani.

This morning was a somewhat traumatic one.  And the reason for that is I had to wake up at 6:15!! Honest to God, I cannot remember the last time I woke up that early!! And since I am a night-creature and have horrific sleeping habits (anyone have any suggestions for a good nights’ sleep?), I only ended up sleeping 3/4 hours, tops!!  Like always, I was extremely cold when I left the house (the fact that it was 0˚C and very windy did not help in the matter), and since I also had to rush my breakfast, I just couldn’t shake off the mad desire for tea and cake.

DSCN8944-3

If you read our post on coffee cake, you will remember that we made loads of extra baking mix, so that we could use it again to make some other gorgeous dessert.  Well, this morning’s events made me think…the time has come.  So with Bruno Mars’ Locked Out of Heaven playing in the background, we dove into another one of our favorite recipes.

Anyone fancy a banana muffin with a hot cup of tea? Yes, please! And the recipe couldn’t be any easier!!

INGREDIENTS
3 cups half’n’half baking mix
4 Tbsp brown sugar
1 cup milk
4 Tbsp butter, melted
1 egg
optional:
1 cup fruit (bananas, apples, blueberries…all work wonders)
1/2 cup chopped nuts or seeds
1 Tbsp cinnamon (best if you make apple muffins)

METHOD
Beat the sugar, milk, egg and melted butter until smooth.  Pour into the baking mix just until moistened.  You want it to be lumpy to get a nice texture in your muffins.  Fold in the fruit and/or nuts.  Fill the greased muffin tins with the muffin mixture and top each muffin with a little cube/slice of your chosen fruit.   Bake at 220˚C for 20 minutes.  Put a pot of tea on the stove and you’re ready to go!!

Happy Baking!!

4 thoughts on “Blissful Whole-Wheat Banana Muffins

  1. Hi Adriana! Thanks for stopping by and I’m really glad you like the blog! 😀 It’s so exciting to see it reach more and more people every day!

    These are the things I focus on for now, seeing as I just started:
    – Keywords: make sure your titles contain keywords that will appear in keyword specific search engine results. Ex. if you’re writing a recipe for muffins, and your title is “Good Morning!”, it is less likely that your article will appear when a user searches ‘muffins’.
    -Tags: add tags (as many as you can, but don’t overdue it) to your posts. tagging the keywords in your posts will increase the chances of users finding your blog when they search for any of those words.
    – Link back to yourself: if you mention coffee in a post, and you’ve written a post on coffee before (or another post that talks about coffee at all), link the word ‘coffee’ back to that article. It will boost traffic to individual pages!
    – Update your content regularly with useful information!
    – Image descriptions: adding captions to your images will allow search engines to find them more easily.
    – Use social networks: Make a FB, Twitter, Pinterest etc..page where you post your best pictures and some updates. That way, even if you don’t post on your blog for a few days, you can keep your audience informed with quick updates on what you’re doing (and why you’re not blogging!). Also, these pages will likely appear in search engine results, bringing people back to your blog!

    Hope this helps!!
    Dalila

  2. Pingback: The Winner Of A Lot On Your Plate's Online Bake-off And Giveaway!

  3. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be
    actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.

    I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang
    of it!

Leave a Reply

