Lemon Drizzle Brownies

DSCN9994My sister calls me crazy because first thing in the morning, unlike normal Italians who have a foamy cappuccino and a cornetto or sugary doughnut, I squeeze an entire lemon and a whole grapefruit into a glass, add NO sugar or honey, and I down it like a glass of water! I  can’t even explain how good it feels on the back of your throat, especially when you wake up a little (ok a lot) groggy and quite unmotivated about going to work.  If that burning (yet divine) sensation doesn’t wake you up, well then I fear nothing will.


To add to my love for everything citrus, over the summer I visited the Amalfi Coast, in the south of Italy, for the first time.  And can you take a wild guess at what their specialty is? Limoncello.  Made with their very own lemons.  Oh wait, did I say lemons? what I really meant to say was disproportionately large lemon-looking footballs.  Take a look for youself…

photoSo anyway, I think you get the point.  I simply adore lemons, grapefruit, oranges, tangerines, etcetera ad infinitum.  Add to that mine and my sister’s – and let’s be honest, everyone in the world’s – love (and constant craving) for brownies, we thought…why the heck not.

The idea behind lemon brownies is that you have to make them so lemony, that not only will every bite explode in your mouth, but you literally will not be able to stop eating them once you start.  I tried.  And I failed. Oh and did I mention that we added an oozy citrus glaze on top? Right, I’ve dug my own grave here.  I’m going to go make some right now!

DSCN9959

Ingredients
1/2 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)
3/4 cups flour
2 eggs
2 Tbsp lemon zest
2 Tbsp lemon juice
3/4 cups granulated (white) sugar
1 pinch salt
For the glaze:
4 Tbsp lemon juice
8 tsp lemon zest
1 cup icing sugar

Method
Preheat oven to 180˚C (350˚F).
Grease a 20x20cm square or a 40x10cm rectangular oven tin with butter.
Zest and juice the lemons and set aside.
With an electric mixer, beat the flour, sugar, salt and butter until combined.
In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, 2 Tbsp of lemon zest and 2 Tbsp lemon juice.  Pour this into the flour mixture and beat for 2 minutes, until fluffy and smooth.   Now pour into the baking dish and bake for 20-25 minutes (they should turn golden around the edges).
While they are cooling completely,  make the lemon glaze by mixing the powdered sugar with the rest of the lemon juice and lemon zest.
When the brownies are COMPLETELY COOLED, pour half the glaze over the brownies and let it harden.  Then pour the rest of the glaze over the first layer and let that set as well.
Cut the bars into squares and serve.

Prepare for a party in your mouth!

DSCN9977

Leave a Reply

